What can we help you with today?

Find step-by-step guides, troubleshooting tips, and feature explainers

How to Delete or Make an Account Inactive

Account Management

How to Delete or Make an Account Inactive

Deleting an account is a permanent action. ALL of its associated data (contacts, tastings, etc) will also be deleted.

Last updated on 23 Oct, 2025

Deleting an account can only be performed by admin-level users.

To delete a company that is closed from your Account List:

  1. Select Account

  2. Select Edit Account

  3. Click the red "Delete Account" button on the left-hand side of the screen

  4. Select "OK" to confirm

The account and history will be deleted and cannot be undone.

To make an account inactive:

  1. Select Account

  2. Select Edit Account

  3. Select 'Active"

  4. Select "NO" in VinoSmith

The account and history will still be saved but won't show up on your list.

You can access an inactive Account by:

  1. Select Accounts

  2. Filter by Account Status - select Disabled to see who's been inactivated.

Don't forget to update your accounting software as well!

Was this page helpful?
Previous

What Is the "Delivery Times" Feature Used For?

Next